jump to navigation

Out of the frying pan, into the freezer Thursday

Posted by James Dubois in Travel.
trackback

Hey, all.

InfraDesign has seen fit to ship me out to an oil platform in the North Sea. WILL I EVER BE WARM AGAIN?! Hah, still this is great for my research. I’m looking forward to the trip as it’ll be my first time in the arctic. You’d think that the north and south would be similar but aside from the temperature (cold!) they’re really different environments. I won’t bore you with the details.

HEP has gone gangbusters over the last two decades. When I started my work as an undergrad I couldn’t begin to imagine being hired by ID&E, much less running my own department. But with the new office’s construction now in its final phase and the expedition launching in just a few months, I feel like I’m standing on the edge of an immense frontier. I get so bogged down in my work (no pun intended, hah) that it’s easy to forget what this is all leading up to.

Anyway, the flight leaves at the end of the week so I need to clear my desk and pack my mittens. My contact up there is a guy named Jens Jensen, which I find hilarious. I’m making a stop in Reykjavik and then I’m going to do some sight-seeing around Scandinavia before heading out to sea. Keep warm!

– Hersh

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

